Internal Values

I read somewhere that when you live life in accordance with your internal values, you become much more happy and satisfied. I think it is an interesting idea.

It makes me wonder what my values are. And it also makes me wonder where I might be going wrong.

I value the following things. They are not intended to be any particular order – I just typed it as I thought about it – although maybe their order is significant in that the most important things to me appear first.

  1. Loyalty
  2. Honesty
  3. Finishing things I start
  4. Staying on top of things
  5. Self-development
  6. Living a healthy life
  7. Moderation
  8. Friendship
  9. Love and commitment
  10. Not getting pushed around
  11. Helping others

After typing this list, I thought about giving them a score out of 5, where 1 indicates that I am not living my life in accordance with these values, and 5 is where I have developed those habits that mean I follow them every day. Maybe I can explore some of these themes more.

  1. Loyalty                                                          5/5
  2. Honesty                                                        3/5
  3. Finishing things I start                               2/5
  4. Staying on top of things                            2/5
  5. Self-development                                       4/5
  6. Living a healthy life                                    1/5
  7. Moderation                                                 1/5
  8. Friendship                                                   3/5
  9. Love and commitment                              5/5
  10. Standing up for what I believe in             1/5
  11. Helping others                                            4/5
  12. Doing a good job of things                        3/5

Having typed this list I began to think about some of the traits and habits I have that cause problems.

I sometimes tell white lies and am economical with the truth. I can very lazy and procrastinate like crazy. I eat poorly and drink/smoke FAR too much. I spend too much time gaming and not enough time improving my real life. I sometimes let myself and others get pushed around.

But it is not all bad news. I am very loyal, and have no fear of love or commitment. And I have almost completed a two year diploma – I am proud of myself that I stuck it out and did the work.

What I want to do now is think about the areas where I could be doing better – maybe try to identify problems and see what I can do about them.

